Alexander McQueen “Savage Beauty” Exhibit at the Met

“There is no way back for me now. I am going to take you on journeys you’ve never dreamed were possible.”
Alexander McQueen

On Friday I saw the Alexander McQueen Exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

http://blog.metmuseum.org/alexandermcqueen/

I’ve followed his career since the late 90’s and have always awaited each season with anticipation.

The show was beautifully curated. Each room had a different theme and soundtrack, which was in tune with the style of the clothing.

I was most impressed by the amount of detail that went into each individual piece. His darkly romantic vision and meticulous attention to detail have always appealed to my aesthetic sensibilities. However, before seeing the clothing in person I was unable to fully comprehend the precision and painstaking craft that must had gone into the each individual garment. I had always admired a piece with gold, scaled armor that I had seen in one of his collections. When I saw the same garment in the exhibit I observed that feathers were imbedded in between each scale.

All of these elements added to the overall success of the show. Seeing the Alexander McQueen show really felt more like a complete experience than other art or design shows that I have seen. I often had the impression that his clothing couldn’t be replicated in photos. I’m glad that I was finally able to see so many of his iconic pieces in person. What a beautiful tribute to a short, but vibrant and extraordinary career. I left feeling deeply inspired, with a more intimate understanding of McQueen’s work.  

“I get my ideas out of my dreams… if you’re lucky enough to use something you see in a dream, it is purely original. It’s not in the world — it’s in your head. I think that is amazing.”
— Alexander McQueen

Below are some photos of the show that I found online:

Leave a Reply

